2nd Hospital Visit of the Year ~ Partial Blockage/Precautionary Action


20130726-060748.jpg

Many times we can see when our Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis is going to flare. We can feel something slowly changing and know that something is brewing in our body. Sometimes though that isn’t the case and our IBD can cause us problems before we have a chance to blink.

This is what happened to me last night. I didn’t see it coming and then before I knew it I was in the hospital. I didn’t feel all that good during the day, but nothing horrible by any means. Since I didn’t feel normal, I ended up not drinking or eating enough. This was wrong on my part. Usually I’m very good at being on a eating schedule.

Around dinner time I figured it was about time to have my first meal since breakfast. I was already dizzy before eating and a little weak. After making some food and eating most of it, something was wrong.

Slowly I was weaker, the room was spinning and pain was starting. Before I knew it I was vomiting my dinner from just 30 minutes before. In a strange occurrence, I didn’t feel better after throwing up. The pain actually got worse and my body got even weaker. I went downstairs, tried to relax and before I knew it I was vomiting again.

After the second time I called my doctors and told him that I was dizzier than I have ever been, still nauseous, having more pain and very weak. He asked all the normal questions about symptoms and how much my ostomy was putting out. Immediately he told me he’d like for me to go to the hospital and I knew it was the right decision. After he mentioned to me that if I wanted to I could wait, but it would probably result in an NG tube at that point.

Once he said that the decision was easy. No one ever wants an NG tube, so my girlfriend was amazing, as she always is and picked me up to go the hospital. Lisa is incredible and stayed with me until the early hours of the morning before she went home. She was very happy that I went and took action before my Crohn’s got worse too. To be honest, normally I would have stuck it out longer and tried to let it correct itself at home. Since the NG tube was mentioned and I knew Lisa would be upset if I didn’t go when my doctors told me to get to the hospital, the decision was easy.

On a side note briefly I’m amazed at how calm and great Lisa is with my Crohn’s. Another reason why it was an easy decision, is that I knew going to the hospital wasn’t going to scare her away or strain our relationship in any way.

In the end right now I don’t know what is going on. We think it’s a blockage of some sort, but we didn’t do any cat scans when I arrived since I was throwing up. Once we know what’s going on, I’ll be sure to let everyone know how I’m doing.

Still in a little shock that I’m already in the hospital a second time this year. I was having a few great months recently. But we never know when these diseases are going to hit and for me it was last night.

Never Stay Quiet!

2 thoughts on “2nd Hospital Visit of the Year ~ Partial Blockage/Precautionary Action

  1. Good luck, Brian. I know what it’s like to end up in the hospital out of the blue. I’ve been hospitalized three times this year, including a major surgery, and all of it was for problems I didn’t even have (or know about) even six months ago. Crohn’s is a wildly unpredictable and volatile disease. I sincerely hope they find out what’s causing your problems and take care of it. Blockages are the worst.

  2. Wish you well and thank you for sharing some symptoms of something going wrong, they mirror how I was initially diagnosed and how it could happen again. Take care and speedy recovery

Leave a Reply

