Miss You!


As I continue to work to become a better man, I was told to read poetry as it can be therapeutic.  In the past few days since I started, I’ve probably already read maybe 30 or so poems.  I try to read 10 poems every night.  It truly is relaxing and makes me think about things more clearly.  Here is one that I really enjoyed from a book of many poems on different topics.

Miss you

I miss you in the morning, dear,
When all the world is new;
I know the day can bring no joy
because it brings not you.
I miss the well-loved voice of you, 
Your tender smile for me,
The charm of you, the joy of your
unfailing sympathy.
 
The world is full of folks, it’s true,
but there was only one of you.
I miss you at the noontide, dear;
The crowded city street
Seems but a desert now, I walk
In solitude complete.
I miss your hand beside my own
The light touch your hand,
The quick gleam in your eyes of you
So sure to understand.
 
The world is full of folks, it’s true, 
But there was only one of you.
 
I miss you in the evening, dear,
When the daylight fades away;
I miss sheltering arms of you
To rest me from the day,
I try to think I see you yet
There where the firelight gleams
 
Weary at last, I sleep and still
I miss you in my dreams.
 
The world is full of folks, it’s true,
But there was only one of you. 
 
Anonymous

When reading this I thought about a lot of things.  It obviously is about someone in particular to the writer, but you can substitute many things for the person who this was written about.  I took a moment and attached different things that I missed while reading it.

This holiday season I’m taking time to reflect on things that I miss and will always miss.  Some of them are people who are no longer with us, some are people who are no longer in my life, some are parts of my body which I miss, some are experiences that I missed out on while being sick and some I rather not share.

It doesn’t hurt to look back on the things or people who you miss.  Chances are that if you miss something it was due to some adversity that you encountered.  Thinking about what you miss and taking the time to do so will let you grow as a person for whatever is ahead in your travels around the sun.

Never Stay Quiet!

Leave a Reply

