Intimacy With An Ostomy


Some of the mental battles of getting an ostomy are very hard.
Some of the mental battles of getting an ostomy are very hard.

This is a question I saw on another IBD/Ostomy page on Facebook.  I almost cried when I saw it.  Some people just don’t understand how hard it is to go through such a surgery which changes your way of life and sadly has a stigma on it (even though it shouldn’t).

I haven’t had problems this severe but I understand what this person is going through.  I’ve had my mental battles and still do.  I might even always have some battles.

It’s still hard to see girls I’ve dated who are dating healthy guys now, hard to think about how it might have effected my relationships or how things might have been different.  I even find myself thinking about how they must enjoy dating someone healthy.

Like I’ve said before though, in the words of one of my ex’s and great friends now:

“It won’t keep you from meeting the right person, it will keep you from meeting the wrong person!”.

I have to remind myself of that sometimes and when I say it, it does make me feel better.  In time I know that I’ll find the right person for me and one that will make me feel great about myself all the time.

I hope this person gains the confidence that they need because sex is a big part of a relationship, but sleeping in the same bed with your partner and cuddling is even more important!

Never Stay Quiet!

Leave a Reply

